Family photos

Mt Stromlo, Canberra (age – 0-11)

I spent my childhood in our family house very close to the observatory on Mt Stromlo (my Dad was an astronomer working there). We were fairly self-sufficient there and I milked the goats. Looking back at this life, I realise I had a perfect childhood here.

This webpage merely contains the family photos of this period of my life. To learn more about what happened during this period of my life, then some of the details are in “My Dad” webpage.

This is a photo of my parents when they were young and just moved into their
new house on Mt Stromlo. The baby will be Clabon.

Me as a toddler

Mum, me and Fitzy our dog at the front of our house

Me slightly older

Mum, me and Fitzy our dog at the front of our house

Russell and me holding baby David – in the rougher area of our back garden

Our house with our goats in front

Me riding one of our goats

For my last two years in Australia (when I was 10 and 11) my main household duty was to milk and feed our goats morning and night. This wasn’t always easy (sometimes they were lost or they trod in the milk etc) but I suppose it was my main challenge. I imagine the trials and tribulations associated with this task formed my character. I still like goats – they are wonderful animals (if at times rather perverse).

Clabon, Russell, David and me playing in the Cotter river.

A family group of cousins, uncles etc (I am second from the left)

Us four children at Kambah Pool

Clabon and me

This is us four brothers when we were staying with our grand parents in NZ.

Also in NZ with relations there.

This time me and Clabon when in NZ

Us four brothers again

Us four brothers with a new Australian called Uldus from Latvia

Previous to this moment, our family had a Canary-yellow Austin 7 car,
which we all piled into as best we could. But then finally we moved into
a more conventional car. We took this car with us to the UK.

You might now also like to look back at:
either my “Home Page” (which introduces this whole website and lists all my webpages),
or “My Life” (which introduces this major set of webpages).

My next normal webpage is “Mill Hill – 1952-1961“.

Updated on 14/11/2016.